top of page

2023 Sinta Quartet 
National Composition Competition Results


Congratulations to this year's winners!


Ryan Galik (left) - If on a Winter's Night

Theodore Strich - The Mind


Additional congratulations to 4 runners-up:

Nicole Knorr - what we carry

Wenbin Lyu - Glow

Rain Michael - Business meeting (in an unmarked grave)

Yanchen Ye - Collapsing Dome

The concert presenting all of these works, plus a world premiere by Matthew Browne, will take place May 14, 2024 at Kerrytown Concert House in Ann Arbor, MI at 7:30pm. 

2020 Winners:

Gala Flagello - "Dabble"
Aaron Siebert-Castiñeira - "The Sobbing of the Phoenix"
Pictured: Gala Flagello (left), Aaron Siebert-Castiñeira (right)
Click HERE to learn more about these composers.
Flagello Headshot Vertical.jpg

2019 Winners:

Keaton Garrett - "Idling"
Harrison Collins - "Drive"
Pictured: Keaton Garrett (left), Harrison Collins (right)

2018 Winners:

Sawyer Denton - "Midnight Run"
Saad Haddad - "Nashwa"
Pictured: Saad Haddad (left), Sawyer Denton (right)

2016/17 Winners:

Richard Chowenhill - "In Solitude I Sit"
Chris Hass - "Volcanic Ash"
Pictured: DSQ (always in score order) with Richard Chowenhill (center left with the beard) and Chris Hass (center right in between two beards) after the premiere of their pieces at Kerrytown Concert House in Ann Arbor.

2015 Winner:

Zack McDonald - "The Corrupted Sleeper"
Pictured: DSQ with composer and saxophonist Zack McDonald after a performance of his winning composition the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University.

2014 Winner:

Joseph Bozich - "Babel"
Pictured: DSQ with composer Joseph Bozich after the premiere performance at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

2013 Winners:

Natalie Moller - "Phantoms"
Annika Socolofsky - "Bulgarity"
Pictured (L-R): Professor Donald Sinta, Danny, Annika Socolofsky, Joe, Zach, Natalie Moller, Dan. Following the US premiere of their works.
bottom of page